Skip to content

Australian AI scribe comparison

Grounded Scribe vs Freed AI

Freed is a US outpatient documentation product with a large following; Grounded Scribe is built only for Australian settings. The difference that usually decides it is not the note quality — it is where the record comes to rest and whose rules it lives under.

Sources reviewed 9 September 2026 · the same criteria for both · we publish this page

Searching and choosing a note template (demo data)

The short answer

If you want adaptive templates and a large US product with a strong following, Freed is credible. If your obligations are Australian — onshore storage, MBS documentation, AU-specific terminology — Grounded Scribe is built for that. Freed does not state a data region in the sources reviewed.

Who each one suits

Freed AI alternative: which one fits your practice

We publish this comparison, so read the second list as the case for the other product, not as a concession.

Choose Grounded Scribe if you…

  • Want affordable plans with 5 pricing tiers to choose from
  • Work in mental health, allied health, or education
  • Need built-in clinical assessments (PHQ-9, GAD-7, etc.)
  • Require Australian data storage and Privacy Principles compliance

Consider Freed AI if you…

  • Are based in the United States and need US EHR push integrations
  • Prefer an ambient-only approach without additional clinical tools
  • Want templates that automatically learn and adapt from your edits
  • Need pre-visit summary features for outpatient workflows

Where the choice turns

  • Practices with Australian obligations

    Where clinical data rests is a governance question, not a branding one. Freed does not state a region in the sources reviewed.

  • Outpatient and general practice

    Both cover it. Freed’s template learning is its distinctive claim.

  • Mental health and allied health

    Profession-specific templates and built-in assessments versus adaptive general templates.

  • Trainees and students

    Freed publishes a 50% student and trainee discount and lists free access for residents, students and trainees.

Criteria

Feature by feature.

Grounded Scribe’s column comes from our own published plans. Freed AI’s column reflects its publicly accessible pages, reviewed 9 September 2026.

Grounded Scribe and Freed AI compared
CriterionGrounded ScribeFreed AI
Free tier 10 healthcare-grade sessions + unlimited dictation notes/month, forever 7-day free trial; no permanent free plan listed in the sources reviewed (free access listed for residents, students and trainees)
Paid plans from $19/month + GST (Plus, 30 sessions) Multiple paid tiers (verify at getfreed.ai)
Profession coverage 70+ professions with tailored templates and terminology Primarily GP and outpatient specialist focused
Mental health focus Deep support for psychologists, counsellors, social workers Dedicated mental health and psychiatry support
Clinical assessments Unlimited on all plans (PHQ-9, GAD-7, DASS-21 and 33 validated tools in all) Not listed as a built-in feature in the reviewed sources
Australian data storage Records stored in Australia, APPs compliant Region not stated in the official sources reviewed
Australian privacy compliance Built for Australian Privacy Principles (APPs) HIPAA compliant (US privacy standard)
Ambient listening Records the whole consultation, in the room or by telehealth, and drafts the note afterwards. No live transcript on screen, by design Real-time ambient transcription (core strength)
Template learning Custom templates with profession-specific defaults Templates that auto-learn from your edits
Task management Built-in tasks with AI auto-extraction from sessions Not listed in the reviewed sources
School wellbeing Schools: Descant, our sister product, handles student support and wellbeing records Not listed in the reviewed sources
Practice software integrations Cliniko, Halaxy & Nookal integrations with note write-back EHR push to major US electronic health records

Where they differ

The differences that tend to decide it.

The rest is close enough that it rarely settles the question.

  • 01

    Australian data sovereignty

    Grounded Scribe stores all clinical records in Australia, fully compliant with Australian Privacy Principles. Freed AI cites HIPAA, a US privacy standard, and does not state a data region in the sources reviewed.

  • 02

    Typically more affordable

    Grounded Scribe Plus starts at $19/month AUD for 30 sessions. With multiple pricing tiers and AUD billing, Grounded Scribe offers a lower entry price for Australian practitioners without currency conversion.

  • 03

    Beyond GP documentation

    Freed AI focuses on GPs and outpatient specialists. Grounded Scribe covers 70+ professions including psychologists, allied health, social workers, and educators with profession-specific templates and clinical assessments.

  • 04

    Complete clinical platform

    Grounded Scribe goes beyond documentation with 33 validated clinical assessments and treatment plans.

Cost

What each one costs.

Our plans are published in full. Read Freed AI’s current figures on their own pricing page rather than here.

Grounded Scribe and Freed AI pricing compared
Plan levelGrounded ScribeFreed AI
Free plan 10 healthcare-grade sessions and unlimited dictations every month No permanent free plan listed in the sources reviewed; 7-day trial; free access listed for residents, students and trainees
Entry paid plan Plus, 30 sessions From US$39/month
Top plan Max, unlimited sessions Higher tiers published by the provider

Grounded Scribe tiers in full: Plus $19 for 30 sessions, Core $39 for 60, Pro $69 for 120, and Max $99 for unlimited — all + GST. Every paid plan includes unlimited healthcare-grade dictations, 33 assessments and 185 note templates. See pricing.

Moving over

Moving from Freed AI.

You do not have to commit to find out. Run both for a week and judge it on your own sessions.

  1. 01 Start free

    Create an account in about a minute. No credit card. The free plan includes 10 healthcare-grade sessions and unlimited five-minute dictations every month.

  2. 02 Set up your templates

    Pick from 185 profession-specific note templates or build your own, so your notes come out in the format you already write in.

  3. 03 Record a real session

    Run it alongside your current tool for a week and compare the notes on your own work before you move anything.

  4. 04 Move across when you are ready

    Keep both running as long as you like. There is no lock-in contract and no export fee, so switching back costs you nothing but the time.

Questions

Grounded Scribe and Freed AI: common questions

Is Grounded Scribe a good Freed AI alternative?

If you want adaptive templates and a large US product with a strong following, Freed is credible. If your obligations are Australian — onshore storage, MBS documentation, AU-specific terminology — Grounded Scribe is built for that. Freed does not state a data region in the sources reviewed.

How does Freed AI pricing compare?

Grounded Scribe has a free plan (10 sessions a month) and paid plans from $19/month + GST. Our plans are published in full. Read Freed AI’s current figures on their own pricing page rather than here.

Where is my data stored with Grounded Scribe and Freed AI?

Grounded Scribe: Records stored in Australia, APPs compliant. Freed AI: Region not stated in the official sources reviewed.

How do I switch from Freed AI?

Start free: Create an account in about a minute. No credit card. The free plan includes 10 healthcare-grade sessions and unlimited five-minute dictations every month. Set up your templates: Pick from 185 profession-specific note templates or build your own, so your notes come out in the format you already write in. Record a real session: Run it alongside your current tool for a week and compare the notes on your own work before you move anything. Move across when you are ready: Keep both running as long as you like. There is no lock-in contract and no export fee, so switching back costs you nothing but the time.

Sources

Information about Freed AI is based on their publicly accessible website, reviewed 9 September 2026. Where a capability is not mentioned in those sources this page says so, rather than asserting the product does not have it. Verify current features and pricing directly with the provider. All trademarks belong to their respective owners. Grounded Scribe Pty Ltd is the publisher of this comparison and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Freed AI.

Try Grounded Scribe free.

10 healthcare-grade sessions and unlimited dictation notes every month. No credit card, no lock-in.

Last updated: